Thursday, October 1, 2015

Book Blitz & Giveaway - Fairy Tale Confessions

Hello there, lovely readers.

Finally, my favorite blogging month has arrived. October. The month that I prep all the creepy, scary novels that I really want to read, and in turn share with you all.

I LOVE Fairy Tale retellings. Not very 'Halloweenish'? 

Think about it! Many of these fairy tales, especially in their original telling, are actually extremely dark and disturbing.

So when you think of it that way, this is actually a pretty fitting Book Blitz for October blogging here at Bookluvrs Hanve. Not to mention -  I am pretty excited about this collection of stories.

Book Details:

Fairy Tale Confessions Collection
Published by: Amber Leaf Publishing
Publication date: October 1st 2015
Genres: Fairy Tales

Fourteen bestselling authors twist up your favorite tales. Will your favorite have a happily-ever-after?

Get ready to meet some sexy, not-so-valiant princes, punk-rock princesses, villains turned heroes, and truly vile monsters wreaking havoc within our favorite tales.

Read about Dancing Princesses getting their groove on in a disco club, a seriously sexy Rumpelstiltskin, and one alluring Puss-in-Boots, plus many, many more captivating characters in these fourteen all new short-stories. 

Where to buy it:

Giveaway Time!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Good luck and Happy Reading!

Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Cover Reveal - The Secrets We Kept, by Lily Velez

Welcome to this week's Cover Reveal, care of  Xpresso Book Tours for The Secrets We Kept, by Lily Velez. Cover designed by Okay Creations. 

 As a reader, it is important to me that authors choose relevant covers for their novels. That is the book's first impression on you as you browse online, or the book shelves/tables at your local bookstore. The first thing that makes you pause.

Would I pause long enough to pick this one up, turn to the back to read the synopsis? It sure would.  It's simplicity and soft colors would draw me to it. Its title and the image on the cover would make me curious. 

Are you curious? Go ahead and discover what this story is all about.

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Cover Reveal - The Touched, by Jennifer Weiser

Today we have a Cover Reveal, care of  Xpresso Book Tours for The Touched, by Jennifer Weiser, published by Limitless Publishing.

Love the color theme. It is simple, soulful and effective. It certainly draws the attention. Curious?

Click on "Read More" to see what this novel is all about!

Monday, September 7, 2015

Book Review - Windwalker, by Natasha Mostert

From the award-winning author of Season of the Witch, comes a highly original story of murder, redemption, eternal love and destiny. WINDWALKER will keep you on the edge of your seat. And break your heart.

When photographer, Justine Callaway, walks into the deserted English mansion, Paradine Park, she doesn’t suspect that she is opening the door to the greatest mystery–and magic–of her life.

Justine becomes obsessed by the family who used to live in the house, especially the oldest son, Adam Buchanan. But why is she so drawn to a man who had killed his brother nine years before? And why, as she photographs the house, does she discover ghostly images she knows she did not record?

Even more unsettling, she senses someone is stalking her, watching her...

Purchase Links: Amazon / The Book Depository


My Review: 


Where has this author been all my life???

This novel was exactly what I hoped it would be from the very first glance at this beautiful cover. Yes... Shallow, I admit. But the cover is undoubtedly attractive and caught my eye while browsing selections on

This was a delicious story, filled with the mystery and intrigue promised in the synopsis of this book, with a delightful gothic feel.  But what I did not anticipate was the riveting love story between the two main characters and how deep their bond was, defying death and the restrictions of time.

The writing style was magical, and Natasha Mostert very quickly took a place on my favorite 'Just Discovered' authors list.  The backstory was well developed, and her characters so well fleshed out that I feel like I know them.  

Now don't get me wrong. This is not just a 'angsty' love story. There is a pretty well fleshed out baddie here, that will give you a bad case of the willies too. When I say that this story is full bodied, I mean it! There is a little bit of everything here, even the hint of a ghost or two.

This story truly was raw and compelling, filled with intrigue and so much passion that it makes your own heart clench. I am still surprised by the emotion I feel thinking of this story, even months after I have read it. 

Give this a author a go, and you may just get hooked!

"Windwalker" earned a big 4 stars. 

Happy reading!

Natasha Mostert is South African. She grew up in Pretoria and Johannesburg but currently lives in London with her husband, Frederick. She still keeps an apartment in the university town of Stellenbosch in the Cape province.
She is the author of five novels. Her fourth novel, SEASON OF THE WITCH, is a modern gothic thriller about techgnosis and the Art of Memory and won the Book to Talk About: World Book Day 2009 Award. Film rights were sold to Allotria Productions with Emmy-award winning screenwriter, Andrew Davies, commissioned to write the script. Her fifth novel, THE KEEPER, is a thriller about martial arts, chi and quantum physics.
Mostert returned to the subject of memory in her latest novel, DARK PRAYER, which is described by Kirkus Reviews a "brainy, fast-moving thriller" in which "Mostert brings together fascinating strands of biology, psychology and mysticism."

Author Links: Goodreads / Website

Friday, September 4, 2015

Book Review - The Undying, by Ethan Reid
In this riveting apocalyptic thriller for fans of The Passage and The Walking Dead, a mysterious event plunges Paris into darkness and a young American must lead her friends to safety—and escape the ravenous “undying” who now roam the crumbling city.

Jeanie and Ben arrive in Paris just in time for a festive New Year’s Eve celebration with local friends. They eat and drink and carry on until suddenly, at midnight, all the lights go out. Everywhere they look, buildings and streets are dark, as though the legendary Parisian revelry has somehow short circuited the entire city.

By the next morning, all hell has broken loose. Fireballs rain down from the sky, the temperatures are rising, and people run screaming through the streets. Whatever has happened in Paris—rumors are of a comet striking the earth—Jeanie and Ben have no way of knowing how far it has spread, or how much worse it will get. As they attempt to flee the burning Latin Quarter—a harrowing journey that takes them across the city, descending deep into the catacombs, and eventually to a makeshift barracks at the Louvre Museum—Jeanie knows the worst is yet to come. So far, only she has witnessed pale, vampiric survivors who seem to exert a powerful hold on her whenever she catches them in her sights.

These cunning, ravenous beings will come to be known as les moribund—the undying—and their numbers increase by the hour. When fate places a newborn boy in her care, Jeanie will stop at nothing to keep the infant safe and get out of Paris—even if it means facing off against the moribund and leaving Ben—and any hope of rescue—behind.

Purchase Links: Amazon / B & N

My Review:

This novel was incredibly cinematic. Just the way I like my apocalyptic zombie/vampire novels! I could almost see this filmed Documentary style, and the author's visually stimulating writing style really allowed me to immerse myself deeply in this story. 

I love how the stage was set for the disaster to come, and the level of emotions in the characters as they began to feel uneasy and nervous, then panicked over the city being overcome with people turning into these strange violent vampiric beings.  

Best of all, these creatures were fascinating in their evolution. It became very clear that this was no mindless, violent creature, though many started that way. They began to evolve in their behaviour with each other, and towards the humans. They were no longer just a danger in numbers, but in their intelligent cunning as well. Their increased intelligence made them all the scarier to contemplate and imagine. 

From beginning to end, this was a page turner of a novel.  Not only was it hard to put down, but I was truly immersed in the grip of this story, occasionally startled to find myself in the comfort of my own living room, and not running for my life, like the characters in this novel.  It has been a while since a novel of this genre really got my blood pumping, so it is without a doubt that I would recommend this read to those of you that are fans of this type of plot.

I give "The Undying" 4 juicy stars.

Happy Reading!

About This Author
: Ethan Reid received his BA in English with Writing Emphasis from the University of Washington and his MFA from the University of Southern California’s MPW Program, where he studied under author S.L. Stebel, Oscar-nominated screenwriter Sy Gomberg, and Oscar-winning screenwriter Frank Tarloff.

Ethan is a member of the Horror Writers Association, the International Thriller Writers and the Pacific Northwest Writers Association. Ethan currently lives in Seattle.

Author links:  Website/ Goodreads / Twitter

Tuesday, September 1, 2015

Bookluvr's Is Back

Lily Here!

It's been a long while. Long time no reviews, or posts. But I never stopped reading and wanting to write about books that I am loving.  I just couldn't find the energy and time needed to get it back up and running again.

I was, unfortunately forced to take a break last winter, after accepting a new work assignment. It really was high stress and very busy, and my creative juices took a beating.  Not only that, but I am happy to say that my hubby and I are expecting our first baby, a little boy, in a few months. 

Being pregnant certainly takes a toll on your body, and it forced me to take a step back from all the work hours I had been putting in.  I needed a lot more rest than usual, and I had to reassess how much of me I was giving to my job. 

Thankfully, I found a good balance. Now that I am in the best time of my pregnancy, have more energy, and gave myself that much needed down time, those creative juices started to kick in again. I realized how much I missed blogging about books I love, or not love so much, and all that jazz.  

So here we go! 

I have a few Netgalley reviews to catch up on, so that's what is coming up in the next few weeks.  I look forward to interacting with my fellow bloggers and readers again. 

Happy Reading!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...